Corporate Fellows


Emeritus Research Fellows


L. G. Christophorou (1990)
For innovative and fundamental contributions to the understanding of the interactions and transport of electrons in gases and liquids, negative ion processes, the interfacing of the gaseous and condensed phases of matter, and the use of fundamental knowledge in the development of gaseous dielectrics, radiation detectors, and pulsed power

Robert N. Compton (1995)
For experimental studies in atomic and molecular physics, particularly developments in the field of nonlinear laser spectroscopy and the physics of negative ions

James M. Corum (1992)
For playing a substantial and lead role in developing and establishing the structural design methodology that is vital to safe and reliable nuclear power, including the development of high-temperature design analysis methods and code rules that are used worldwide.

Stan A. David (1991)
For significant advancement of welding science and technology through original and definitive research, particularly for contributions to understanding the solidification behavior of the weld pool, phase stability microstructure-property correlations in welds, and continued leadership and outstanding service to the national and international welding research community.

Tony A. Gabriel (2001)
For his internationally recognized accomplishments in high-energy physics, radiation transport, and detector and neutron target research and development.

Amit Goyal (2008)
For pioneering research and distinguished contributions to the field of high-temperature superconductors, including fundamental materials science advances and technical innovations that enable commercialization.

David L. Greene (1999)
For distinguished contributions to energy policy research and analysis for transportation, and for advancing understanding of the transportation sector's role in energy and environmental concerns.


Fred C. Hartman (1988)
For advances in protein structure and enzyme mechanisms by use of affinity labeling and site-directed mutagenesis.

Eric Hirst (1985)
For pioneering work on energy conservation, including development of energy demand models, data bases, and analyses of energy use trends, which has contributed to federal and state energy policies and programs and to demand-side planning by electric utilities.

Russ Knapp (1998)
For international leadership in developing innovative therapeutic and diagnostic applications of radionuclides for nuclear medicine.

Ben Larson (2003)
For fundamental investigations of the structure and dynamics of materials using X-ray diffraction, including pioneering nanosecond resolution X-ray studies and the development of three-dimensional X-ray structural microscopy with submicron resolution.

Steve E. Lindberg (2000)
For distinguished research on the air/surface exchange of atmospheric trace gases and particles and their interactions with the Earth's biogeochemical cycles, and for pioneering developments in atmospheric sampling methodologies with special emphasis on the global mercury cycle.

Chain T. Liu (1986)
For leadership in the development of high-temperature materials for energy and space applications, based on innovative use of physical metallurgy principles and basic physics knowledge to understand crystal structures and the mechanical properties of structural materials.

Peter Mazur (1985)
For internationally recognized basic research in cryobiology -- the study of freezing and preserving living cells -- which has contributed to the use of frozen cell and tissue banks and stimulated development of a rapidly growing livestock breeding industry using frozen cattle embryos.

Anthony Mezzacappa (2005)
For research in the fields of astrophysics and supernova science.

Robert V. O'Neill (1996)
For pioneering research in ecosystem theory, ecological modeling, error analysis, hierarchy theory, and landscape ecology and for the development of basic applications in risk assessment and regional environmental analysis.

Lester C. Oakes (1986)
For contributions to advanced control systems for nuclear reactor, including development of control-system and plant protection technologies that permit automated start-up and operation; and to analysis techniques that have led to better understanding of reactor dynamics

Frank Plasil (1999)
For fundamental research establishing fission-imposed limits on rotating nuclei, and for extensive studies of heavy ion reactions from low to ultrarelativistic energies.

Francis G. J. Perey (1979)
For contributions to nuclear data measurement, analysis, and applications, through determination and development of neutron-induced reaction cross sections, high-resolution neutron scattering, the nonlocal nuclear optical model, and uncertainty and covariance information

Rufus H. Ritchie (1989)
For fundamental studies in radiation physics, radiation dosimetry, and surface physics and for pioneering theoretical work on collective electron modes, surface electromagnetic waves in solids, and elucidation of the interaction of charged particles with matter.

Liane B. Russell (1987)
For discoveries of fundamental importance in mammalian genetics, as well as for studies of genetic and developmental effects in mice, which have provided a broad basis for assessment of the genetic risk to humans from radiation and chemicals, including the development of genetic and early developmental tests now used worldwide.

Charles D. Scott (1986)
For application of chemical and engineering principles to the development of nuclear fuel processing; separation science and technology; and innovative biomedical and bioprocessing concepts for environmental protection, energy production and conservation, and resource recovery

Richard F. Wood (1983)
For theoretical research on the electronic and vibronic structures and optical properties of defects in ionic crystals, and for work at the forefront of the rapidly developing field of laser annealing of semiconductors, leading to advances in the photovoltaic conversion of solar energy.


We're always happy to get feedback from our users. Please use the Comments form to send us your comments, questions, and observations.