Neutron Science


Quantum Condensed Matter Division

The Quantum Condensed Matter Division (QCMD) enables and conducts a broad program of research on condensed matter physics using neutron techniques. Division personnel enable the research initiated by external users by acting as instrument-responsible scientists and local contacts on a range of neutron instruments used for diffraction and inelastic neutron scattering at both SNS and HFIR. The science conducted by our staff members emphasizes materials with emergent properties that are manifestly quantum in origin. Some examples of current interests include superconductivity, multiferroicity, low-dimensional and frustrated magnetism, orbital fluctuations, quantum criticality, and topological insulators. Our scientists also develop and apply new neutron instruments and methods for the benefit of our users and the global scientific community.

Quantum Condensed Matter Division Staff

Director Stephen Nagler
Administrative Assistant Sharon Porter
Fundamental Neutron Physics Geoffrey Greene
Structure of Matter Bryan Chakoumakos
Time-of-Flight Spectroscopy Mark Lumsden
Triple-Axis Spectroscopy Jaime Fernandez-Baca


Supported Research Highlights and News

more highlights and news coming soon!


We're always happy to get feedback from our users. Please use the Comments form to send us your comments, questions, and observations.