Corporate Fellows


Active Research Fellows


Jacob Barhen (1999)
For pioneering accomplishments in the fields of global optimization, artificial neural networks, and high performance computing based on quantum devices.

B. Richard Bass (2008)
For outstanding scientific, programmatic, and institutional contributions to ORNL in advanced computational structural mechanics and nuclear safety technologies.

James R. Beene (2004)
For innovative research in nuclear structure physics, particularly in areas leading to a quantitative understanding of the excitation and decay of the elementary collective modes of nuclei, and for vision and scientific and technical leadership in building the Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam Facility into a forefront laboratory for nuclear science.

Budhendra L. Bhaduri (2011)
For his role in conceiving, designing, and implementing novel geocomputational methods to help solve a wide variety of national and global problems in energy, the environment, and national security.

Lynn A. Boatner (1992)
For research leading to the development of new materials and to the solution of a wide range of fundamental and applied problems in solid-state science through the application of modern methods for the synthesis and characterization of ceramics, glasses, and alloys and the growth of single crystals.

Sheng Dai (2011)
For pioneering studies of the functionality of mesoporous oxides and carbons for real-world applications, ionic liquids for chemical separation and materials synthesis, and catalysis by nanomaterials.

Virginia H. Dale (2002)
For pioneering research in disturbance and landscape ecology and in modeling of land-use change with its implications for global changes, which have influenced environmental decision making on a worldwide scale.

C. Stuart Daw (2008)
For pioneering the application of chaos theory and nonlinear dynamics to energy technologies, including gas-fluidized beds, internal combustion engines, and pulsed combustion.

Al Geist (2002)
For internationally recognized contributions in distributed and cluster computing, including the development of the Parallel Virtual Machine and the Message Passing Interface standard now widely used in science to solve computational problems in biology, physics, chemistry, and materials science.

Paul J. Hanson (2012)
For environmental-effects research related to energy technologies and their use, focusing on the impacts of climate and atmospheric changes on the physiology, growth, and biogeochemical cycles of North American forest ecosystems.

Jon A. Kreykes (2009)
For far-reaching accomplishments on national security issues relating to nuclear weapons proliferation, security of nuclear materials, and counterterrorism.

Lonnie J. Love (2015)
For his extensive contributions to large-scale and high-speed advanced manufacturing and 3-D printing; for blending additive manufacturing with fluid-powered systems to develop lightweight, high-dexterity, and low-cost prosthetics; and for his tireless mentoring of students at all levels in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

John T. Mihalczo (1998)
For expertise in developing neutron detection technologies used in scientific research and in nuclear weapon and arms control verification.

Stephen E. Nagler (2007)
For his pioneering contributions to the study of nonequilibrium systems, quantum magnetism, and excitations in condensed matter.

Richard J. Norby (2007)
For his research on the effects of elevated levels of atmospheric carbon dioxide on terrestrial ecosystems.

David C. Radford (2015)
For pioneering nuclear structure studies with radioactive ion beams, development of innovative software for gamma ray spectroscopy, and significant contributions to gamma ray tracking detectors.

Nageswara Rao (2006)
For contributions to high-performance networking and multiple-sensor fusion and for developing a unifying theory of information fusion.

Brian C. Sales (2012)
For pioneering research and development of new materials for advanced energy technologies, including materials for (a) the storage of nuclear waste, (b) the solid-state generation of electrical power directly from heat, and (c) the lossless transport of electricity.

Mike Simpson (2014)
Since 2001, Mike Simpson has been a group leader for the Nanofabrication Research Laboratory and theme leader in the Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences. His research focus includes noise biology, nano-enabled synthetic biology and controlled synthesis and directed assembly of carbon nanostructures.

G. Malcolm Stocks (1995)
For his internationally recognized work in the theory of alloys and his pioneering applications of massively parallel computing to first-principles calculations of the properties of materials.

Bobby Sumpter (2013)
For outstanding scientific impact in computational soft matter and nanoscience through cross-discipline collaboration to address materials problems and discover new functional materials

Kenneth W. Tobin, Jr. (2003)
For outstanding contributions to the field of applied computer vision research and development that address important national interests in industrial and economic competitiveness, biomedical measurement science, and national security.

Jerry Tuskan (2014)
Jerry is recognized for distinguished research on the genetic basis of tree growth and development, including leading the international efforts to sequence, assemble, and annotate the genomes of poplar and eucalyptus bioenergy feedstocks.

Thomas J. Wilbanks (1986)
For research on fundamental issues involving society and technology; for contributions in economic geography, especially related to modernization processes in developing countries; and for advancements in energy and environmental policy analysis, including technology assessment and R&D policy.

Stan Wullschleger (2013)
For outstanding leadership and pioneering research in climate and the environmental sciences


We're always happy to get feedback from our users. Please use the Comments form to send us your comments, questions, and observations.