Robert M Wagner

Robert M Wagner

Director, National Transportation Research Center


Dr. Robert Wagner is the Director of the National Transportation Research Center (NTRC) at Oak Ridge National Laboratory; a faculty member of the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International, and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). His responsibilities include vision and strategic leadership of NTRC, coordination of researchers and resources, and management of the NTRC as a DOE-designated National User Facility. He also supports external strategic outreach which includes the development of strategic collaborations with industry, universities, and other national laboratories; and the development of strategic internal collaborations to leverage ORNL leadership science resources. He coordinates closely with the ORNL Sustainable Transportation Program and line organizations to ensure the success and continued growth of the ORNL transportation portfolio. In addition, he is the lead of Sustainable Mobility Theme for the ORNL Urban Dynamics Institute.

Dr. Wagner is on the editorial board of three international journals, on executive committees for ASME and SAE, has organized more than 20 international symposiums, has authored more than 100 technical publications, and has more than 50 invited presentations in 10 countries. He is also the recipient of the ASME Internal Combustion Engine Award (2014), SAE International Leadership Citation (2014), SAE McFarland Award (2010), and multiple ORNL awards including research leadership (2014), early career accomplishment (2003), and significant events (2002, 2004, 2011, 2015, 2016, 2016). He earned BS, MS, and PhD degrees in mechanical engineering from the Missouri University of Science & Technology and was an EPA Science to Achieve Results Fellow.


ASME McDonald Mentoring Award (2018)

SAE Forest R. McFarland Award (2018)

AAAS Fellow (2017)

ASME Fellow (2016)

ORNL Awards Night Research Leadership at the Group Level Award (2014)

ASME Internal Combustion Engine Award (2014)

SAE International Leadership Citation (2014)

SAE Fellow (2013)

SAE Forest R. McFarland Award (2010)

ORNL Awards Night Outstanding Accomplishment in Science & Technology Award for Early Career Engineering Accomplishment (2003)

ORNL Significant Event Award (2002, 2004, 2011, 2015, 2015)

User Facility